Clergy and Staff

Clergy

The Rev. Canon Patricia Grace – Canon to the Ordinary 

Contact Patricia Grace-pgrace@dioet.org


The Rev. Brett P. Backus – Senior Associate Rector

Fr. Brett joined the clergy of Ascension in August 2008 as a transitional deacon directly after receiving his M.Div from Virginia Theological Seminary in Alexandria, VA.

He was then ordained to the priesthood in the Diocese of East Tennessee in 2009.

He is happily married to Carla and they have two children, Haven and Bella.

Contact Brett-brett@knoxvilleascension.org


The Rev. Larry Beach – Deacon Associate

The Rev. J. Lawrence (Larry) Beach is a retired deacon making his home at Ascension with his wife Faye. Deacon Larry was ordained on Epiphany III, 1985, at St. Timothy’s Episcopal Church in Kingsport, Tennessee.

Kingsport was home to the Beach family until his retirement from Eastman Chemical Company in 1997. Upon retirement they moved to Knoxville.

After a brief time Larry was assigned to St. James Parish in Knoxville. He served as deacon there until 2008. He now joyfully sings in the parish choir and fills in as needed in worship services. His heartfelt occupation is serving the Knoxville Hospitality Pantries (FISH) helping to make food available to the hungry and homeless in Knoxville. Larry and Faye have three children and six grandchildren.


The Rev. Christopher W. Hogin – Assistant Rector

 

 

 

 


The Rev. SuZanne Seavey – Priest Associate

 

 

Staff


Megan Alden – Director of Children’s Ministries
Contact Megan Alden

 

 

 


Virginia Branum – Office Assistant
Contact Virginia Branum-virginia@knoxvilleascension.org

 

 

 


Tristen DeAngelo-Hicks – Executive Assistant to the Clergy
Contact Tristen-tristen@knoxvilleascension.org

 

 

 


James Garvey – Director of Music Ministries
Contact James Garvey-jgarvey@knoxvilleascension.org

 

 

 


Linda Hawley – Parish Administrator
Contact Linda Hawley-linda@knoxvilleascension.org

 

 

 


Beverly Hutto – Senior Bookkeeper
Contact Beverly Hutto-beverly@knoxvilleascension.org

 

 

 


GiGi Logan – Youth Ministries Director
Contact GiGi Logan-gigi@knoxvilleascension.org

 

 

 


Sabra Martin – Graphics Secretary
Contact Sabra Martin-sabra@knoxvilleascension.org

 

 

 


Donnie Moore Night Sexton

 

 

 

 


Andrew Morehead – Associate Music Director and Communications Coordinator
Contact Andrew Morehead-andrew@knoxvilleascension.org

 

 

 


Byron Proaps – Facilities Plant Manager
Contact Byron Proaps-byron@knoxvilleascension.org