Clergy and Staff

Clergy and Staff


The Rev. Patrick Wingo – Interim Rector – was born in Birmingham Alabama, and grew up as an active member of All Saints’ Episcopal Church in Homewood. Although his family were mostly Auburn people, he chose a contrarian route, and graduated from the University of Alabama in 1982 with a degree in Marketing and Business Administration. He graduated from the Seminary of the Southwest in Austin, Texas in 1992. Before entering seminary, he worked in banking, equipment sales and construction. Pat served as rector of Church of the Resurrection in Gadsden, AL, and St. Thomas’, Birmingham before beginning his ministry on the diocesan level in Alabama in 2008. In 2012, Pat joined the bishop’s staff in the Diocese of Virginia as Canon to the Ordinary. As a parish priest in Alabama, he served on the Standing Committee, directed summer camps and was a deputy to General Convention. In Virginia, Pat was responsible for supporting the ministry of the bishop as the “first responder” in troubled situations, overseeing transition ministry and the ordination process, and assisting with staff oversight. Pat’s vocational interests are in congregational development, conflict mediation in congregations, and leadership. He also is on the faculty of CREDO, a clergy wellness initiative of the Church Pension Group. Pat’s avocations are exercise, being outdoors, music, and reading. He and his wife, the Rev. Sara-Scott Wingo, have three grown daughters. They have family in Nashville and Birmingham, and are thrilled to be moving to Tennessee.

Contact Pat –

The Rev. Christopher W. Hogin – Assistant Rector

Born and raised in the city of Knoxville, Tennessee, The Reverend Christopher Hogin has led a varied career. Graduating from The University of Tennessee in 1995, and then The University of Tennessee College of Law in 1999, he spent the next ten years in a variety of professions, including a United State Senate Capitol Hill staffer in Washington, DC, operations manager of The Red Cross, and a practicing attorney specializing in corporate antitrust law. In 2010, at the age of 38, he heeded the call to holy orders and attended Duke University School of Divinity. Ordained in 2013, he spent the next three years serving as associate rector at St. Michael’s Church in Raleigh, NC. Currently, he is back home serving as associate rector for pastoral care at The Episcopal Church of The Ascension in Knoxville, Tennessee. A single father, he spends most of his free time raising his three year old son, John Michael. They enjoy singing, playing chase, and exploring the world.

Contact Christopher –

The Rev. Larry Beach – Deacon Associate, retired

The Rev. J. Lawrence (Larry) Beach is a retired deacon making his home at Ascension with his wife Faye. Deacon Larry was ordained on Epiphany III, 1985, at St. Timothy’s Episcopal Church in Kingsport, Tennessee.

Kingsport was home to the Beach family until his retirement from Eastman Chemical Company in 1997. Upon retirement they moved to Knoxville.

After a brief time Larry was assigned to St. James Parish in Knoxville. He served as deacon there until 2008. He now joyfully sings in the parish choir and fills in as needed in worship services. His heartfelt occupation is serving the Knoxville Hospitality Pantries (FISH) helping to make food available to the hungry and homeless in Knoxville. Larry and Faye have three children and six grandchildren.


The Rev. SuZanne Seavey – Priest Associate, retired



The Rev. Matthew Farr – Priest Associate, Chaplain at Episcopal School of Knoxville




Virginia Branum – Office Assistant
Contact Virginia Branum –






Tristen DeAngelo-Hicks – Executive Assistant to the Clergy
Contact Tristen –






James Garvey – Director of Music Ministries
Contact James Garvey –




Linda Hawley – Parish Administrator
Contact Linda Hawley –





Beverly Sutton – Senior Bookkeeper
Contact Beverly Sutton –




GiGi Logan – Youth Ministries Director
Contact GiGi Logan –







Sabra Martin – Graphics Secretary
Contact Sabra Martin –





Donnie Moore Night Sexton
Contact Sextons –






Rachel Thomas – Interim Christian Formation Coordinator
Contact Rachel Thomas –






Chip Myers  Lead Sexton
Contact Sextons –







Olivia Johnson – Communications Coordinator
Contact Olivia Johnson –